Ad Break

Well I just failed that exam bishakl kabiir. I don’t even need to see it marked to know that. I blame several things, but chiefest of all I blame myself. That’s how it goes.

But I’m bored of being underfoot, so I’m going to change tack today and talk about something that makes me happy, even if it brings a tear to my eye to think about it.

Ever heard of the Edinburgh Fringe? I hadn’t; at least, not until this year. I knew it was something arty in Edinburgh, but not a great deal more than that. But for those who understand more than I do, it’s surely one of the world’s greatest gatherings of amateur and professional talent in one city. That’s why it’s famous. It’s one of those bucket list things for several people, myself included. I might have had the chance this year but, as things pans out, I had it snatched from me through decisions of my own. So this is my chance to lay down the line for anybody with time on their hands: go to Edinburgh Fringe 2015. You only need one reason this year and it’s Durham’s very own Northern Lights A Cappella Choir.

Yeah, so I’m biased because I used to be one of them. Well, at least being stuck out here means I’m a little less biased, right? …right? Ok, so it changes nothing, but seriously. It’s sure to be a stellar performance (sadly I’m not responsible for that wonderful pun). The Northern Lights have done so much this year, in this their second year of existence; competing for the first time in the International Collegiate A Cappella semifinals, recording a single, performing at University College’s infamous June Ball and even for TEDx (see video below – yes, that numpty in black at the front is me). It was a thrill ride all year from start to finish, and compared to the workload rising up on all sides like the Red Sea, it never got quite too much for me. The things you love can never overwhelm you entirely if you’re having a good time, and because of them this year has been without a doubt the best year of my life so far. So if it can have that kind of effect on a loner like me, imagine what it must look like live! Seriously, if you can, get yourself down/up to Edinburgh for their show. It promises to be something truly magical. You’ll get to see the one-man show that is Luke Hill, the charming charisma battery called Sam Arrowsmith and the soulful tones of Harrie Aldrich, and that’s just for appetisers. Now more than ever I find myself wishing I could be in two places at once. But don’t let me go overboard – why don’t you see for yourself?

For more information on the event itself, have a look here.

Guys, if you’re reading this, I love you all so much. Mush over. BB x

Leave a Reply

